Killer Kale Salad!

I love when a trip to the grocery store teaches me something new. The other day I ventured in to Whole Foods (or Whole Paycheck as we also like to call it), and came upon a poster with interesting information about something called the ANDI index. Apparently, ANDI stands for “Aggregate Nutrient Density Index”, and ranks the nutrition index of foods on a scale from 1 – 1000, by “evaluating a range of micronutrients including vitamins, minerals, phytochemicals and antioxidant capacities”.

As you can see, leafy greens rule the roost, and among the ones with a perfect score is kale. And, since most fruits and veggies are at their most potent in their raw state, I figured I needed to come up with a really good way to use raw kale. After a little experimenting, I came up with the following:

*** Since I rarely cook from a recipe, be aware that whatever amounts I do mention are approximate, and might require some tweaking to suit your taste***

Crush a good-size garlic clove. Add 1 part Ponzu (a Japanese citrus vinegar), 3 parts olive oil, a pinch of salt, and about a teaspoon sweet hot mustard. If you don’t have access to Ponzu, you can use a blend of decent white wine vinegar and fresh lemon juice. Add a generous amount of freshly grated Parmigiano Reggiano, a handful of raisins and an equal amount of toasted pine nuts. Shred the kale finely, and toss well with the other ingredients. I like to use a mix of red and green kale, because it looks so beautiful. If you want to make it a bit meatier, this is a perfect foil for grilled chicken. Other than that, it makes a great potluck item, because the kale resists wilting, and looks fresh for hours. And you can feel great about it, because it is so darn healthy! Enjoy!

About annamadeit

I was born and raised in Sweden, By now, I have lived almost as long in the United States. The path I’ve taken has been long and varied, and has given me a philosophical approach to life. I may joke that I’m a sybarite, but the truth is, I find joy and luxury in life’s simple things as well. My outlook on life has roots in a culture rich in history and tradition, and I care a great deal about environmental stewardship. Aesthetically, while drawn to the visually clean, functional practicality and sustainable solutions that are the hallmarks of modern Scandinavia, I also have a deep appreciation for the raw, the weathered, and the worn - materials that tell a story. To me, contrast, counterpoint, and diversity are what makes life interesting and engaging. Color has always informed everything I do. I’m a functional tetrachromat, and a hopeless plantoholic. I was originally trained as an architect working mostly on interiors, but soon ventured outside - into garden design. It’s that contrast thing again… An interior adrift from its exterior, is like a yin without a yang. My firm conviction that everything is connected gets me in trouble time and time again. The world is a big place, and full of marvelous distractions, and offers plentiful opportunities for inquiry and exploration. I started writing to quell my constant queries, explore my discoveries, and nurture my curiosity. The Creative Flux was started in 2010, and became a catch-all for all kinds of intersecting interests. The start of Flutter & Hum at the end of 2013 marks my descent into plant nerd revelry. I occasionally contribute to other blogs, but those two are my main ones. For sure, topics are all over the map, but then again - so am I! Welcome to my blogs!
This entry was posted in Food and Drink Recipes, Health and Safety and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Killer Kale Salad!

  1. Michelle says:

    Hi Anna,
    I made the salad to take to a dinner today, with a few substitutions for what I had on hand and it was a hit! I think I will be making this a lot more this growing season. Would you mind if I linked to your post from my blog?

    Thanks so much for sharing this!

  2. Pingback: Ironic? « June’s Corner Garden

  3. Pingback: Rainbow Salad and Pâté – Sure to Please my Mitochondria | The Creative Flux

Leave a Reply

