‘B’ is for Blue…

Can’t believe it is mid-August already! Along with the happily buzzing bees, butterflies and hummingbirds, my current garden favorites are the blues. It is such a magical color!  The dark blues are especially mesmerizing – they are almost electric. Dusk is falling as I write this. Despite diminishing light levels, they still glow strong against the greens and browns surrounding them.

Agapanthus 'Storm Cloud'

Agapanthus 'Storm Cloud'

Agapanthus ‘Storm Cloud’

The buds are almost purple before they open. This is one of the best descriptions of 'indigo' I can imagine.

The buds are almost purple before they open. This is one of the best descriptions of ‘indigo’ I can imagine.

An unidentified lighter blue agapanthus holds its own pretty well too.  It was the first Lily of the Nile in my garden and a gift from my mother. :)

An unidentified lighter blue agapanthus holds its own pretty well too. It was the first Lily of the Nile in my garden and a gift from my mother. 🙂

The bees love it too.

The bees love it too.

IMG_5624

IMG_5607

Clematis 'Rooguchi'. Never managed to catch the bumble bee that frequented this one's inviting indigo trumpet.

Clematis ‘Rooguchi’. Never managed to catch the bumble bee that frequented this one’s inviting indigo trumpet.

It stubbornly waited on a leaf below, until I got tired and put my camera down, before proceeding.

It stubbornly waited on a leaf below, until I got tired and put my camera down, before proceeding.

The color of the fruits of Dianella tasmanica or Flax Lily is amazing. The flowers are rather insignificant, but the berries make up for it, for sure!

The color of the fruits of Dianella tasmanica or Flax Lily is amazing. The flowers are rather insignificant, but the berries make up for it, for sure!

I can't have a garden without bluebells!

I can’t have a garden without bluebells!

Salvia 'Black and Blue'

Salvia ‘Black and Blue’

Those black ovaries are to die for! Probably the bluest black I've ever seen in a plant. So cool...

Those black ovaries with the white outline are to die for! Probably the bluest black I’ve ever seen in a plant. So cool…

The ripening Vitis vinifera purpurea. I just bought paint. In a couple of weeks, the wall the grapes are climbing on will be a dark, beautiful purple.

The ripening Vitis vinifera purpurea. I just bought paint. In a couple of weeks, the wall the grapes are climbing on will be a dark, beautiful purple.

The newly acquired Agastache ' Rainbow Sorbet' and Schizachyrium s. 'The Blues' look really good against that color too. I have a feeling the emerging spring foliage of Iris 'Gerald Darby' will fit beautifully into that mix against that wall, too. Thank you Scott, for those!

The newly acquired Agastache ‘ Rainbow Sorbet’ and Schizachyrium s. ‘The Blues’ look really good against that color too. I have a feeling the emerging spring foliage of Iris ‘Gerald Darby’ will fit beautifully into that mix against that wall, too. Thank you Scott, for those!

You know the expression of having ” the blues” when you’re in a funk? Somehow that feeling is curiously absent when I see these blues – in fact they cheer me up! Head over to Carol at May Dreams Gardens to see what other lovelies grow in gardens around the world! Thanks for hosting, Carol! It’s late in the day, but I hope you all had a good Bloom Day!

About annamadeit

I was born and raised in Sweden, By now, I have lived almost as long in the United States. The path I’ve taken has been long and varied, and has given me a philosophical approach to life. I may joke that I’m a sybarite, but the truth is, I find joy and luxury in life’s simple things as well. My outlook on life has roots in a culture rich in history and tradition, and I care a great deal about environmental stewardship. Aesthetically, while drawn to the visually clean, functional practicality and sustainable solutions that are the hallmarks of modern Scandinavia, I also have a deep appreciation for the raw, the weathered, and the worn - materials that tell a story. To me, contrast, counterpoint, and diversity are what makes life interesting and engaging. Color has always informed everything I do. I’m a functional tetrachromat, and a hopeless plantoholic. I was originally trained as an architect working mostly on interiors, but soon ventured outside - into garden design. It’s that contrast thing again… An interior adrift from its exterior, is like a yin without a yang. My firm conviction that everything is connected gets me in trouble time and time again. The world is a big place, and full of marvelous distractions, and offers plentiful opportunities for inquiry and exploration. I started writing to quell my constant queries, explore my discoveries, and nurture my curiosity. The Creative Flux was started in 2010, and became a catch-all for all kinds of intersecting interests. The start of Flutter & Hum at the end of 2013 marks my descent into plant nerd revelry. I occasionally contribute to other blogs, but those two are my main ones. For sure, topics are all over the map, but then again - so am I! Welcome to my blogs!
This entry was posted in Bloom Day, Color, Cool plants, Gardening and Landscaping and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to ‘B’ is for Blue…

  1. Gorgeous photos and beautiful color palettes!

  2. Alison says:

    Love all your bright blues this morning! I’m especially jealous of your Rooguchi Clematis. I planted one this year, but I don’t think it’s thriving. Hope you post pictures of your purple wall once it’s painted.

    • annamadeit says:

      Thanks! I’m sure your Rooguchi will come along just fine – you were made of green thumbs, so how could it not? Yes, I will absolutely post photos of the wall – stand by! 🙂

  3. Love all your blues! I seem to gravitate to pink, red, and white for some reason…

  4. Kris P says:

    Beautiful photos! The vast majority of my Agapanthus are long gone, as our my grapes, which were taken, yet again, by birds before they ripened. (Next year: netting!)

    • annamadeit says:

      Thanks! Now I’m curious – what kinds of birds eat your grapes? I always leave mine for the birds, and they don’t seem fond of them at all! The grapes are really tasty, but tiny and full of seeds so there is not much meat on them, so to speak. Maybe I’ll try to hand them off to my wine-making neighbor – he might be able to use them.

  5. Ricki Grady says:

    You make a good case for the blues. I keep trying to add them, but so far they seem to be giving me the cold shoulder.

  6. Heather says:

    Your blues are incredible! I love that Storm Cloud especially. Would you be willing to share the name of that purple? I feel like a need to paint a pot or a room in it.

  7. Asia says:

    Beautiful plant, no words to describe it.

Leave a Reply

