My first Bloom Day ever – May, 2013

For a while now, I’ve seen friends posting blogs referring to “Bloom Day”, but never known what it was. I finally learned! It was started by Carol at May Dreams Gardens. She hosts a number of garden bloggers for a monthly update of what is growing in their gardens. I haven’t gone through them all yet, but it seems the contributors come from all corners of the US – at least. Probably from around the world, actually… If your eyes are starving for a feast – check out what she and all the others have to offer. Beautiful stuff indeed!

A close-up of my Viburnum opulus. They were here when we moved in, and provides me with shade from the hot sun, and the birds with both shelter and food when the red berries develop in fall.

A close-up of my Viburnum opulus. They were here when we moved in, and provides me with shade from the hot sun, and the birds with both shelter and food when the red berries develop in fall.

Other than the shady reading spot, my favorite part is when the flowers start falling - like little snowflakes on my Bamboo Sasa veitchii. So pretty...

Other than the shady reading spot, my favorite part is when the flowers start falling – like little snowflakes on my Bamboo Sasa veitchii. So pretty…

My Enkianthus chinensis 'Showy Lanterns' glistening after the rain. I just moved it - hopefully it will take off now that it is no longer smothered by other plants.

My Enkianthus chinensis ‘Showy Lanterns’ glistening after the rain. I just moved it – hopefully it will take off now that it is no longer smothered by other plants.

IMG_4388

No garden is complete without a few freaks. Here  is the half-opened face of the biggest Allium I have ever seen - no contest. Can't remember its name, but who needs it. This one has star power!

No garden is complete without a few freaks. Here is the half-opened face of the biggest Allium I have ever seen – no contest. Can’t remember its name, but who needs it. This one has star power!

Another weird one for the weary - a Mouse plant. The tiny blossoms hide among the foliage, and look just like little newborn mice. Maybe catnip would be a good companion plant?

Another weird one for the weary – a Mouse plant. The tiny blossoms hide among the foliage, and look just like little newborn mice. Maybe catnip would be a good companion plant?

Sunkissed foliage of Podophyllum pleianthum.

Sunkissed foliage of Podophyllum pleianthum.

.... and its flowers.

…. and its flowers.

IMG_4357

Another Mayapple – Podophyllum peltatum – in bloom. I’m so excited to see it. Thought for sure I killed it last year, but apparently not! 🙂

Trillium erectum - except Wakerobin is a much prettier name.

Trillium erectum – except Wakerobin is a much prettier name.

Red bleeding hearts - Dicentra 'Valentine' blooming for the first time.

Red bleeding hearts – Dicentra ‘Valentine’ blooming for the first time.

My favorite part about Alliums is that they self-seed wherever they want to. This sometimes makes for some interesting combinations. Here it's shooting through the dissected foliage of a Japanese maple.

My favorite part about Alliums is that they self-seed wherever they want to. This sometimes makes for some interesting combinations. Here it’s shooting through the dissected foliage of a Japanese maple.

IMG_4407

More Alliums, but of a smaller variety. Love their little green eyes!

More Alliums, but of a smaller variety. Love their little green eyes!

One of my absolute favorites - Iris confusa, or Bamboo iris. I devoted an entire post to it last week.

One of my absolute favorites – Iris confusa, or Bamboo iris. I devoted an entire post to it last week.

One of the cutest ground-covers ever - Alchemilla alpina. Silvery edges, and hairy silver undersides. Best of all - it takes abuse and is not picky. Sun, shade, drought... whatever! Love it!

One of the cutest ground-covers ever – Alchemilla alpina. Silvery edges, and hairy silver undersides. Best of all – it takes abuse and is not picky. Sun, shade, drought… whatever! Love it!

Did you know that during the Victorian era, Columbines were the flowers of promiscuity. To be given a bouquet containing Columbines was not a good thing... I suppose it is because it so freely crossbreeds with all its cousins. This year, a little of this....

Did you know that during the Victorian era, Columbines were the flowers of promiscuity. To be given a bouquet containing Columbines was not a good thing… I suppose it is because it so freely crossbreeds with all its cousins. This year, a little of this….

...plus a little of this...

…plus a little of this…

...equalled THIS! How about that for a beautiful love child?

…equalled THIS! How about that for a beautiful love child?

Outgoing Wisteria, and incoming Clematis on my arch.

Outgoing Wisteria, and incoming Clematis on my arch.

IMG_4393

What was a cloud of blue in March and April is now these silvery little muppets. Clematis alpina 'Blue Dancer'.

What was a cloud of blue in March and April is now these silvery little muppets. Clematis alpina ‘Blue Dancer’.

The center of 'Huldine' - I think....

The center of ‘Huldine’ – I think….

The mystery rose that reaches far above my gutters. I think I finally figured out what it is thanks to Heirloom Roses' website. I'm awaiting confirmation, but I think it is an Etoile de Hollande.

The mystery rose that reaches far above my gutters. I think I finally figured out what it is thanks to Heirloom Roses’ website. I’m awaiting confirmation, but I think it is an Etoile de Hollande.

Really interesting leaf coloration on a Rhododendron 'Fireball'. Not sure what to attribute it to - but probably abuse... It sat above ground all winter. :(

Really interesting leaf coloration on a Rhododendron ‘Fireball’. Not sure what to attribute it to – but probably abuse… It sat above ground all winter. 😦

The beautiful iris which was a gift from a friend. Behind it is a Schizophragma hydrangeoides 'Moonlight', which with a bit of luck will bloom soon. It has a lot more buds this year than in years past. Fingers crossed!

The beautiful iris which was a gift from a friend. Behind it is a Schizophragma hydrangeoides ‘Moonlight’, which with a bit of luck will bloom soon. It has a lot more buds this year than in years past. Fingers crossed!

Lastly – a big thank you to Jane and all my other Garden Blogger friends who let me in on this secret. You can probably find most of them at the May Dreams Gardens. So fun!

About annamadeit

I was born and raised in Sweden, By now, I have lived almost as long in the United States. The path I’ve taken has been long and varied, and has given me a philosophical approach to life. I may joke that I’m a sybarite, but the truth is, I find joy and luxury in life’s simple things as well. My outlook on life has roots in a culture rich in history and tradition, and I care a great deal about environmental stewardship. Aesthetically, while drawn to the visually clean, functional practicality and sustainable solutions that are the hallmarks of modern Scandinavia, I also have a deep appreciation for the raw, the weathered, and the worn - materials that tell a story. To me, contrast, counterpoint, and diversity are what makes life interesting and engaging. Color has always informed everything I do. I’m a functional tetrachromat, and a hopeless plantoholic. I was originally trained as an architect working mostly on interiors, but soon ventured outside - into garden design. It’s that contrast thing again… An interior adrift from its exterior, is like a yin without a yang. My firm conviction that everything is connected gets me in trouble time and time again. The world is a big place, and full of marvelous distractions, and offers plentiful opportunities for inquiry and exploration. I started writing to quell my constant queries, explore my discoveries, and nurture my curiosity. The Creative Flux was started in 2010, and became a catch-all for all kinds of intersecting interests. The start of Flutter & Hum at the end of 2013 marks my descent into plant nerd revelry. I occasionally contribute to other blogs, but those two are my main ones. For sure, topics are all over the map, but then again - so am I! Welcome to my blogs!
This entry was posted in Bloom Day, Cool plants, Gardening and Landscaping and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to My first Bloom Day ever – May, 2013

  1. Scott Weber says:

    Congrats on your very first Bloom Day post…and you came in with a bang! Love the Columbines, that interbreeding is what makes them so fun…you never know what you’ll get after a few years 😉

    • annamadeit says:

      So true! They are so pretty! I was lucky to get some Amsonia seeds last fall, but haven’t put them in the ground yet… Do you think it’s too late? Yours looked so wonderful!

  2. Laura says:

    Wow! Your blooms are beautiful. Thanks for the giggle about the mouse plant. 🙂 Happy GBBD to you!

  3. Dreamybee says:

    What a beautiful collection–hanging out in your yard must be wonderful! I love the allium/maple combination-isn’t it great what Mother Nature comes up with when we’re not looking? I also love that you have a patch of “silvery little muppets”-LOL! 🙂 Welcome to GBBD–I hope you’ll keep sharing!

    • annamadeit says:

      Thank you Dreamybee, for the warm welcome! I’m very excited to be part of this group. Actually, my garden is a very messy learning lab! That’s why all the photos are taken up close – LOL!!! But I hope that this summer is when it will all come together and actually be a relaxing place to be. I can always dream…right?

    • Hanging out in Anna’s yard IS wonderful, Dreamybee!

  4. Peter/Outlaw says:

    Glad you joined the GBBD celebration! Your flowers are gorgeous and I didn’t know about the Victorian columbine meaning- knew I liked them for a reason:) Happy first Bloom Day to you; here’s to many more!

    • annamadeit says:

      Thank you Peter! I love the free love of Columbines too. I also like the way they randomly pop up where you least expect them. It is part of their charm. And I also think that is why I will probably never have a very orderly garden – they kind of fit my personality!

  5. Love your columbine mixes. I have the dark one (from Anne) but I didn’t realize they interbred – the naughty things! That shot of the allium coming through the Japanese maple is gorgeous!

    • annamadeit says:

      Thanks! Yeah, I don’t know what it is about me and my attraction to fuzzy flowers – they are so cute! Probably the same sensibilities that made the Cookiemonster my favorite. Almost huggable!

  6. So many pretty flowers.This is why I love Spring!

  7. Ricki Grady says:

    Welcome to Bloom Day! You do know how to burst upon the scene with a fantastic show. How I wish my alliums would seed about. Scott and I were just bemoaning their undependability.

    • annamadeit says:

      Thanks Ricki! Haha – maybe you and Scott don’t abuse your plants enough… I don’t know what else to think – I really have no advice – they just keep popping up. Heard on This American Life a long time ago that mean servers earn more tips. I think I’m that mean waitress! 😉

    • annamadeit says:

      The variety is called ‘Valentine’. Saw it and just had to have one. Not big on the pink ones, but I love the whites. They are still my favorites..

  8. I did two posts for my New Zealand Tea trees. One in early Spring this year: http://farawaypeachgarden.com/2013/03/15/flowering-shrubs-and-flowering-trees-new-zealand-tea-tree/. One recently: http://farawaypeachgarden.com/2013/05/05/new-zealand-tea-tree-flowers-and-my-little-flowers/. I am crazy about plants that bear lots and lots of flowers. It’s even better if they are hardy. This one fits the bill on both fronts. Hope you like it.:-)

Leave a Reply

