Wednesday Vignette – tension

Happy February, Everyone! I noticed on my way to work this morning that it started getting light before I made it there. It made me ridiculously happy! There are longer, lighter, brighter days ahead, my friends! I was instantly filled with garden dreams – new projects I’m going to start, old un-finished projects I’m finally going to finish, new successes, and new failures.

Last year and beyond, my garden was my savior, my escape. It still is, but this year I’m promising myself that I’m going to BE in my garden for the sake of just BEING – not for the sake of escaping.

It feels like a great calm has settled over chaos in the last week, and although lies still run rampant, theatrics are abundant, and tensions are still high, it’s all somehow muted. I detect a new hum in the Universe, the wheels of a functioning government starting to slowly turn again. I’m looking forward to a time where all is not lost if I forget to think about the news for a day or two. Where it’s okay to relax a little. Battered and weary, we made it this far. I think we all deserve some peace, don’t you? The kind of peace one can enjoy under a lot less pressure.

About annamadeit

I was born and raised in Sweden, By now, I have lived almost as long in the United States. The path I’ve taken has been long and varied, and has given me a philosophical approach to life. I may joke that I’m a sybarite, but the truth is, I find joy and luxury in life’s simple things as well. My outlook on life has roots in a culture rich in history and tradition, and I care a great deal about environmental stewardship. Aesthetically, while drawn to the visually clean, functional practicality and sustainable solutions that are the hallmarks of modern Scandinavia, I also have a deep appreciation for the raw, the weathered, and the worn - materials that tell a story. To me, contrast, counterpoint, and diversity are what makes life interesting and engaging. Color has always informed everything I do. I’m a functional tetrachromat, and a hopeless plantoholic. I was originally trained as an architect working mostly on interiors, but soon ventured outside - into garden design. It’s that contrast thing again… An interior adrift from its exterior, is like a yin without a yang. My firm conviction that everything is connected gets me in trouble time and time again. The world is a big place, and full of marvelous distractions, and offers plentiful opportunities for inquiry and exploration. I started writing to quell my constant queries, explore my discoveries, and nurture my curiosity. The Creative Flux was started in 2010, and became a catch-all for all kinds of intersecting interests. The start of Flutter & Hum at the end of 2013 marks my descent into plant nerd revelry. I occasionally contribute to other blogs, but those two are my main ones. For sure, topics are all over the map, but then again - so am I! Welcome to my blogs!
This entry was posted in Wednesday Vignette and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Wednesday Vignette – tension

  1. bergstromskan says:

    Yes, the light is returning, triggering the returning hope. Here in Ohio, the sky is sapphire blue at this very moment

  2. Pingback: It’s a Stretch | My Gardener Says…

  3. Tina says:

    I love this shot! Elegant and peaceful, the photo represents what a garden should be and I agree that just being in the garden is enough–most of the time! Here’s my WV for the week, thanks for hosting! https://mygardenersays.com/2021/02/03/its-a-stretch/

  4. It’s the lengthening evening light I’m noticing and appreciating. Bring it on!

    My WV: http://www.thedangergarden.com/2021/02/wednesday-vignette-baby-ferns-and.html

  5. Kris P says:

    Like Loree, it’s the extended light in the evening that I most notice but that’s probably because I don’t get up as early as you do 😉 The tone out of the White House is definitely professional and reassuring, although I still wish a certain party would put its house(s) in order. Enjoy your time in the garden!

    • annamadeit says:

      Yeah, my new wake-up time is almost too much – even for me. And I AM a morning person! Agreed on the nut jobs. And I have a whole new respect for those who proved that they actually have a spine. Sheesh!

  6. Kris P says:

    Hi Anna. Your Flutter & Hum blog no longer seems to be accepting comments. I tried under both my Blogspot and my WordPress addresses. In any case, I wanted to offer congratulations on your second shot and my appreciation of your decision to offer Soki a real home where she knows she’s safe.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.