Foliage Follow-up, June 2013

Happy Father’s and Foliage Follow-up Day! Thanks to Pam Penick and her blog Digging down in Austin TX for hosting this continued celebration to the monthly Bloom Day. The middle of each month has truly become a plant celebration! Check her link out for more goodies – from her, as well as from all across the globe!

'Black Lace' Elderberry in bloom contrasted with the dark green of a Tassel fern.

‘Black Lace’ Elderberry in bloom contrasted with the dark green of a Tassel fern.

When I first saw the leaves of Vancouveria hexandra, I thought it was a mega-version of a Maidenhair fern. Not so. It's another PNW native to which I happily devote a corner of my garden.

When I first saw the leaves of Vancouveria hexandra, I thought it was a mega-version of a Maidenhair fern. Not so. It’s another PNW native to which I happily devote a corner of my garden.

Schizophragma hydrangeoides 'Moonlight' climbing up my north wall. The flowers look a lot like those of a climbing hydrangea, but the white sepals are pointy instead of rounded which, I think, adds to its elegance.

Schizophragma hydrangeoides ‘Moonlight’ climbing up my north wall. The flowers look a lot like those of a climbing hydrangea, but the white sepals are pointy instead of rounded which, I think, adds to its elegance.

The bluish green mature foliage makes a pretty backdrop for other plants.

The bluish green mature foliage makes a pretty backdrop for other plants – and ants.

A newly planted Acacia dealbata next to a Yucca in my hell strip. I hear it's a rapid grower, and hope it eventually will turn into  a rather translucent canopy. I don't know how many years it will take for it to flower, but its pretty yellow blooms will no doubt look great with a nearby Santolina.

A newly planted Acacia dealbata next to a Yucca in my hell strip. I hear it’s a rapid grower, and hope it eventually will turn into a rather translucent canopy. I don’t know how many years it will take for it to flower, but its pretty yellow blooms will no doubt look great with a nearby Santolina.

I swear, the blooms of that Yucca reach higher and higher each year. Maybe the adjacent Acacia will dampen its ambition somewhat...

I swear, the blooms of that Yucca reach higher and higher each year. Maybe the adjacent Acacia will dampen its ambition somewhat…

With a black bamboo backdrop, Iris confusa, Ligularia, and Choisya ternata 'Sundance'.

A black bamboo backdrop, Iris confusa, half-eaten Ligularia, and Choisya ternata ‘Sundance’.

Classic combo - hostas and ferns.

Classic combo – hostas and ferns.

Another fern wonder...

Another fern wonder…

Love the red stalks and spotty leaves of the black Calla lily.

Love the red stalks and red-edged spotty leaves of the black Calla lily.

More calla leaves - this time with the shadow of a fern silhouetted through the backlit leaves.

More Calla leaves – this time with the shadow of a Tassel fern silhouetted through the backlit leaves.

The beautiful leaves of a Begonia luxurians - part of a booty from a Garden Blogger's plant swap earlier this spring. Thank you Peter! (Or was it Alison?)

The beautiful leaves of a Begonia luxurians – part of a booty from a Garden Blogger’s plant swap earlier this spring. Thank you Peter! (Or was it Alison? Please correct me if I’m wrong…)

I'm usually not too keen on this color against the chartreuse of the foliage...

I’m usually not too keen on this color against the chartreuse of the foliage…

... but somehow the effect is remedied because of the nearby foliage of this Clematis armandii 'Appleblossom'.

… but somehow the effect is remedied because of the nearby foliage of this Clematis armandii ‘Appleblossom’.

About a month ago, I subjected this monster climber (which I now think is an 'Etoile de Hollande') to severe pruning as it was beginning to topple over. The new shoots have this lovely red color...

About a month ago, I subjected this monster climber (which I now am pretty sure is an ‘Etoile de Hollande’) to severe pruning as it was beginning to topple over. The new shoots have this lovely red color…

... and the new foliage is just as stunning. And, that is probably a good place to end. Sorry -  this was lengthy!

… and the new foliage is just as stunning.

Finally, can't post about foliage without a tribute to the soft grace of Mexican Feathergrass. And, that is probably a good place to end. Sorry - this was lengthy!

Finally, can’t post about foliage without a tribute to the soft grace of Mexican Feathergrass. And that, is probably a good place to end. Sorry – this was lengthy!

About annamadeit

I was born and raised in Sweden, By now, I have lived almost as long in the United States. The path I’ve taken has been long and varied, and has given me a philosophical approach to life. I may joke that I’m a sybarite, but the truth is, I find joy and luxury in life’s simple things as well. My outlook on life has roots in a culture rich in history and tradition, and I care a great deal about environmental stewardship. Aesthetically, while drawn to the visually clean, functional practicality and sustainable solutions that are the hallmarks of modern Scandinavia, I also have a deep appreciation for the raw, the weathered, and the worn - materials that tell a story. To me, contrast, counterpoint, and diversity are what makes life interesting and engaging. Color has always informed everything I do. I’m a functional tetrachromat, and a hopeless plantoholic. I was originally trained as an architect working mostly on interiors, but soon ventured outside - into garden design. It’s that contrast thing again… An interior adrift from its exterior, is like a yin without a yang. My firm conviction that everything is connected gets me in trouble time and time again. The world is a big place, and full of marvelous distractions, and offers plentiful opportunities for inquiry and exploration. I started writing to quell my constant queries, explore my discoveries, and nurture my curiosity. The Creative Flux was started in 2010, and became a catch-all for all kinds of intersecting interests. The start of Flutter & Hum at the end of 2013 marks my descent into plant nerd revelry. I occasionally contribute to other blogs, but those two are my main ones. For sure, topics are all over the map, but then again - so am I! Welcome to my blogs!
This entry was posted in Cool plants, Foliage Follow-Up and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Foliage Follow-up, June 2013

  1. Nothing wrong with lengthy, especially with lovely foliage shots like yours, Anna. Hostas and ferns are indeed a classic combo and here in the PNW they reign supreme. Your new Begonia luxurians is quite lovely!

    • annamadeit says:

      Thanks Jane! Yeah, I just love those lush, shady corners. However, I also love those spiky sunlovers! Question is, how/ and where will I fit them in…? Any of your creative expertise is welcome!

  2. Jean says:

    You have so many interesting plants! Many of which I can’t grow but I appreciate them nonetheless. Thanks for the tour!

  3. Ricki Grady says:

    The lighting in this batch of photos is nothing short of majestic, making everything swoon-worthy.

  4. Pam/Digging says:

    I’m a sucker for Mex feathergrass too — one of my absolute must-haves in any garden. Your Begonia luxurians leaves are especially lovely as well!

  5. Kim M. says:

    That begonia is awesome–but I’m just stunned by the red foliage on that rose. WOW! I never thought that I would consider planting a rose just for its foliage, but that would be an exception. Love it.

    • annamadeit says:

      Thanks Kim, but it’s just the new growth… eventually it turns green. Plus, the lighting was just right to make it glow, so definitely don’t plant one just because of this photo – you would probably be disappointed! I wrote a feature post on it a few weeks back if you want to see what it really looks like. Can’t wait to see what the begonia does – it was a gift and a new plant for me. Exciting!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.